BookCase.Club Subscription Box Review – November 2016

Subscription: BookCase.Club [or click here for the Cratejoy link]

Cost: $9.99/mo + $5 shipping

What to Expect: “A selection of handpicked books based on your preferences. Boxes are shipped on the 1st of each month.”

Though I don’t have a ton of time for books that aren’t audiobooks, textbooks, or a graphic novel for work, I still love getting more books!! Plus, I only have six months till I finish my master’s degree, and then I’ll have time enough at last! So, I was stoked when Subista told me there was a new book box out there that wanted to send me some books.

BookCase.Club stops taking orders each month on the 26th, ship on the 1st of the month, and bill starting on the 10th.

BookCase.Club box

While poking around the BookCase.Club website, the first thing that struck me as cool was the fact that they donate books to charity for every subscriber they get. I like partnerships like that where the companies give back.

We have partnered with Books for Keeps and every month BookCase.Club will donate one children’s book for every active subscription. So not only are you receiving your own great books, you are helping send one to a child that might not otherwise have a book to read.

Books for Keeps has a simple goal: to place books in the hands of children who are least likely to have access. This program gives 12 books to every child served just in time for summer. The goal: to keep up their reading achievement outside of school.


When you sign up there are eight different options to choose from, but the Cookbooks and Military History boxes are quarterly. I went for YA, though I think Strange Worlds, Thrill Seekers, and Blind Date all sound good!

BookCase.Club open box

Box: Teenage Dreams Case

BookCase.Club info card

The card for the box has a quote, social media contacts, and writeups about the books. The writeup was much easier to read this time! Last month it was one big paragraph, and this month it is clearly labeled and chunked.


Reality Boy by A.S. King

3.9 stars on Goodreads

Gerald Faust knows exactly when he started feeling angry: the day his mother invited a reality television crew into his five-year-old life. Twelve years later, he’s still haunted by his rage-filled youth—which the entire world got to watch from every imaginable angle—and his anger issues have resulted in violent outbursts, zero friends, and clueless adults dumping him in the special education room at school.

Nothing is ever going to change. No one cares that he’s tried to learn to control himself, and the girl he likes has no idea who he really is. Everyone’s just waiting for him to snap…and he’s starting to feel dangerously close to doing just that.

In this fearless portrayal of a boy on the edge, highly acclaimed Printz Honor author A.S. King explores the desperate reality of a former child “star” who finally breaks free of his anger by creating possibilities he never knew he deserved.


I definitely must have grabbed this off the shelf last week at work and read the plot, because it sounded super familiar! It sounds like an interesting book, and I’ll read it.


I like to check out the writing style.

And sometimes I’ll make sure a book smells good when I open it…


Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

3.9 stars on Goodreads

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.


I’m guessing this qualifies as an “all the feels” type of book. In middle school, my librarian insisted I’d love some books about intense teen love and death… I’m not heartless, but I hate crying and have little interest in a book recommendation that includes “I cried.”

You’re in luck! BuzzFeed has a whole list of books by that death/love obsessed author, Lurlene McDaniel’s!

I know I should give this book a try since it does have almost 4 stars… but… probably not.

BookCase.Club november 2016 teenage dreams subscription box review


Verdict: This box is great for discovering new-to-you books. I’m looking forward to reading one, but will stick the other in the little free library next to my house.

Despite the picture icons, they aren’t selling the hottest new, best-selling books [which was a bit misleading at first], but they also don’t say that they are. I like that this box has a variety of genres to choose from and is books-only. Most other boxes have bookish goodies and are specifically YA, romance, or hot new adult fiction for more than twice the cost. So, you’re saving money by just getting books, and if I were to buy these books off of Amazon the price would be $20+. Not bad!



Do you like crying while reading? Let us know!

Click here to see other BookCase.Club reviews.

Disclosure: I was sent this box in exchange for my honest review, there are no referral links.

  1 comment for “BookCase.Club Subscription Box Review – November 2016

Leave a Reply